Skip to Content

Adding, Editing, or Deleting Content

This page provides information on how to create new content on each page, as well as how to edit, arrange, and remove existing content.



Adding Content

Steps:

  1. Click anywhere within an Add Section box on the page. This will prompt you to select an introductory layout.  (This can be changed at a later time if needed)
    • Once a layout is selected, click next at the bottom right hand corner. A window to add an optional section title and text will appear. Click Save.
  2. Click inside the Add Content box within the layout to select the desired content type. It should be outlined in green.
  3. Once it's selected, click Next on the bottom right-hand side of the window.
  4. After the content type has been chosen, fill in the requested fields in the new window. Please refer to our help guides for assistance if needed. Otherwise, please feel free to contact Gato support.

Editing Content

Feeling uneasy?

Some editors find it useful to duplicate content before editing. This prevents accidentally saving unwanted changes and losing original content.

Once a content type is selected, locate the Duplicate Component option in the right-hand menu.

Steps:

  1. From the pages view, double-click the page in which you would like to make changes.
  2. Click on the bar containing the content type name. It should now be a green color.
  3. Click on the pencil icon to the far right of the content bar. (or select Edit from the right-hand menu.
  4. Make any desired changes.
  5. Select Save Changes.

Be sure to publish the page after saving if the change is ready to be public.

Moving Content

Time Saver

Cant move content out of a section? Rather than recreate content in a new section, try using copy and paste options.

Steps:

Content types can only be moved among other content types that are within the same section. Likewise for sections; they can only be moved against each other and cannot be moved into another section. Layouts within a section can only be moved around within the same section.

  1. From the pages view, double-click the page in which you would like to make changes.
  2. Click on the bar containing the content type, layout or section which needs to be moved. It should now be a green color.
  3. Click on the 4-way arrow to the far right of the bar (or select Move from the right-hand menu).
    • It is not necessary to hold and drag the content; one click will suffice.
  4. Hover over the bar containing the content type or section in which you would like to move to. The bar of the target area should turn a turquoise color - indicating that this is a compatible move. Click on that bar.

Deleting Content

Note

Once content is deleted, it cannot be retrieved. If this happens by mistake, showing or restoring previous versions of the page can be helpful.

Steps:

  1. From the pages view, double-click the page in which you would like to make changes.
  2. Click on the bar containing the content type, layout or section which needs to be deleted. It should now be a green color.
  3. Once selected, the option to delete it should become available within the right-hand menu.
  4. Be sure that this can be deleted. It cannot be retrieved!
  5. Click Delete in the right-hand menu.